Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > Softaculous Auto Installer > General Support > Topic : Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off (13 Replies, Read 4918 times)
a4animesh
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 1
Status:
Hi

I am using CPanel 11.30 and my hosting container is VPS. I would like to turn off the default 'Database Prefix' in CPanel. I wanted to check if Softaculous scripts honor the settings. I plan to use the Softaculous elgg1.8.2 scripts.


IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2106
Status:
Hi,

We do not have this feature at the moment but we have added this to our todo list and this should be available soon.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
fatfingers
Group: NOC
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Sorry to add a Me Too - but this is also an issue for us - we are just migrating from Fantastico as they simply don't offer a way to deal with a prefixless configuration.

It would be IDEAL if you could add a check box to make databases use the cpanel username as a prefix... makes it much easier for admins later to ddetermine who owns what!
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2106
Status:
Quote From : ksteve February 9, 2012, 10:33 am
Sorry to add a Me Too - but this is also an issue for us - we are just migrating from Fantastico as they simply don't offer a way to deal with a prefixless configuration.

It would be IDEAL if you could add a check box to make databases use the cpanel username as a prefix... makes it much easier for admins later to ddetermine who owns what!
Hi,

Sir which panel are you using ?


-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
fatfingers
Group: NOC
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
We are cPanel based :)
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2106
Status:
Hi,

We will be adding this soon.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
fatfingers
Group: NOC
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Awesome... Would it safe to expect it by April?
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2106
Status:
Hi,

Sir are you referring prefix to the database name or database table name ?
The database name already uses the username as a prefix. You can determine the owner based on the database name itself.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
joriz
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 10
Status:
I can confirm the same problem.

If you install for example Drupal with too long table prefixes you will get  'database driver problem' in Drupal.

So the maximum length of table prefixes should be shortend in  Softaculous.


-----------------------
Phost.nl - Your Personal Host!
Phost.nl offers hosting and related services in the Netherlands for SMEs and private persons.
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2106
Status:
Hi,

Sir are you referring to table prefix or database prefix ?

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
joriz
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 10
Status:
Quote From : Brijesh November 24, 2012, 6:50 am
Hi,

Sir are you referring to table prefix or database prefix ?
The length of table prefixes is the problem when installing Drupal.


-----------------------
Phost.nl - Your Personal Host!
Phost.nl offers hosting and related services in the Netherlands for SMEs and private persons.
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2106
Status:
Hi,

Sir the table prefix suggested by Softaculous for Drupal is "dr_" and if a user wants they can leave it empty as well.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
joriz
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 10
Status:
Quote From : Brijesh November 25, 2012, 10:51 am
Hi,

Sir the table prefix suggested by Softaculous for Drupal is "dr_" and if a user wants they can leave it empty as well.
That is true. But Softaculous also gives the option to change the table prefix. If you enter a to long table prefix it gives problems with the installation of Drupal and other systems.
So it would be very nice if Softaculous checks the length and input of the table prefix field.


-----------------------
Phost.nl - Your Personal Host!
Phost.nl offers hosting and related services in the Netherlands for SMEs and private persons.
IP: --   

Softaculous script support for cPanel database prefix mode off
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2106
Status:
Hi,

Sir we are not aware of any limitations regarding the length of table prefix limitations. If you wish you can disable the table prefix of the script from the install.xml file of the script just add disabled="disabled" next to the filed which you wish to disable and then users will not be able to change it.

Edited by Brijesh : December 7, 2012, 12:09 pm

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is July 23, 2014, 5:22 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.627