Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > AMPPS > General Support > Topic : Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration, Start apache and mysql as services (admin only) - greyed out (8 Replies, Read 7701 times)
fblauer
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 13
Status:
AMPPS - How can I install apache and mysql as services? I can't get to this check box, even if I run the program as an administrator. It is always greyed out. The only thing I can do is click on "start on session startup".
IP: --   

Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration
tidus
Group: AMPPS Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1068
Status:
Quote From : fblauer January 4, 2012, 9:14 pm
AMPPS - How can I install apache and mysql as services? I can't get to this check box, even if I run the program as an administrator. It is always greyed out. The only thing I can do is click on "start on session startup".
Hi,

This feature is for Windows XP & Windows Servers only. We are still working on it.


Edited by tidus : January 5, 2012, 5:38 am

-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/111580687033722614505/
IP: --   

Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration
jesseschulman
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Just posted this in another thread:

http://www.softaculous.com/board/index.php?tid=1391&title=Ampps_as_service

This works for Win2k8 R2:
http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=197
IP: --   

Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration
fblauer
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 13
Status:
Thanks, but I am using windows 7.
IP: --   

Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration
jesseschulman
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
I'm pretty sure that will work under Windows 7 as well.  I can test it out if you don't want to try it.
IP: --   

Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration
Arangorn
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 1
Status:
Quote From : jesseschulman January 17, 2012, 2:04 pm
Just posted this in another thread:

This works for Win2k8 R2:
http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=197
This works for creating a windows 7 user defined service.  What I am hoping someone could help with is how to use that to make MySQL a service.  I am using MySQL Workbench and the server administration feature (importing/exporting specifically) require Workbench find a MySQL service.
IP: --   

Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration
tidus
Group: AMPPS Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1068
Status:
Quote
This works for creating a windows 7 user defined service.  What I am hoping someone could help with is how to use that to make MySQL a service.  I am using MySQL Workbench and the server administration feature (importing/exporting specifically) require Workbench find a MySQL service.
Hi Arangorn,

Open cmd in Administrator mode(Right click on cmd -> Run as Administrator )

Then type the following command
Code
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Ampps\mysql\bin\mysqld.exe" install
Note: Make sure you put the path of your respective Ampps.

-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/111580687033722614505/
IP: --   

Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration
unclepips
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
I used this method of starting both MySQL and Apache as services at the CMD prompt (started with Administrator privileges)

"d:\ampps\mysql\bin\mysqld.exe" install

and

"d:\ampps\apache\bin\httpd.exe" -k install

The only down side to doing it this way is that I don't seem to be able to use the AMPPS Control Center to restart the services - you have to go into the Services in Control Panel to do this.

Regards,
Phil

-----------------------
If it ain't broke...... Fix it until it is!
IP: --   

Installing AMPPS as a service - configuration
unclepips
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Quote From : unclepips March 9, 2012, 9:06 am
I used this method of starting both MySQL and Apache as services at the CMD prompt (started with Administrator privileges)

"d:\ampps\mysql\bin\mysqld.exe" install

and

"d:\ampps\apache\bin\httpd.exe" -k install

The only down side to doing it this way is that I don't seem to be able to use the AMPPS Control Center to restart the services - you have to go into the Services in Control Panel to do this.

Regards,
Phil
Have just been playing about with this - I can stop/start/restart the MySQL service using the Ampps Control Center, but Apache refuses to respond to the buttons in the Control Center.
I have written a windows batch file which is on my desktop to do the job for me:-

Save this as apache_stop.bat
Code
@echo off
d:\ampps\apache\bin\httpd.exe -k stop

Save this as apache_start.bat
Code
@echo off
d:\ampps\apache\bin\httpd.exe -k start

Save this as apache_restart.bat
Code
@echo off
d:\ampps\apache\bin\httpd.exe -k restart

As with the previous post, to execute these files, you need to right click and "Run as Administrator"

Hope this helps.
Regards,
Phil


-----------------------
If it ain't broke...... Fix it until it is!
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is July 24, 2014, 7:24 pm.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.788