Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > Softaculous Auto Installer > Suggestions > Topic : Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM

1


Threaded Mode | Print  

 Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM (33 Replies, Read 22322 times)
aboutnet
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Hello , must have a Mass update button for all Outdated Installations now we have only email notifications. it is difficult to do one by one.
:xd:

Thank you

-----------------------
;-D  aboutnet goes green...
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

We will be adding this feature soon.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
sitebee
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Im not too sure about that, It could break websites, take wordpress for example if you have some custom mods installed forcing your users on the server could break their websites.

Try and explaing to them you forced updates on their website.  I bet that would lose some providers business.


-----------------------
Bolton Web Hosting | Web Design Bolton from SiteBee.
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
aboutnet
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Quote From : sitebee November 22, 2011, 4:21 pm
Im not too sure about that, It could break websites, take wordpress for example if you have some custom mods installed forcing your users on the server could break their websites.

Try and explaing to them you forced updates on their website.  I bet that would lose some providers business.
Sure but if you can have select box for every one of the sites ?

so if you want to update 20 sites you can select only 20.

i have 300 sites with joomla 1.5 now is 1.5.25 all our sites is 1.5.24 and we will updated it to 1.5.25 now i can go for every site to do the update but i want a mass button for all this or select all sites that i want to update with the latest version.



-----------------------
;-D  aboutnet goes green...
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
aboutnet
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
our company has managed services for our customers sites.

we managed joomla sites ( joomla updates , components , modules , contents etc.)

-----------------------
;-D  aboutnet goes green...
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
alons
Group: Administrator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2186
Status:
Hi,

We are working on this.
There are many concerns with this that need to be addressed. It is a little complicated as it can break sites as well.
Hence we are taking into account every information we get.
But we are making this as we speak.

-----------------------
For immediate support please email us at our Support email address. PMs sent to any Softaculous Team member or posting in the forums is not the official way to get support.

Remote Installer - AEFER
Softaculous Webuzo - It is Softaculous Standalone for Enterprises, SMB, Developers. Deploy it on Dedicated Servers, VPS, Virtual Appliances or the Cloud
Softaculous Virtualizor - The Next Generation VPS Panel
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
kenlyle
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 31
Status:
This really is an important feature, especially for those offering managed services.
Is it available yet?  If not, what's the timeline?

Thanks!
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

Sir we are working on it, we are redesigning the architecture of Softaculous to implement this feature.
It is going to take some time because we have many scripts. Once the architecture is ready we will be able to implement this feature.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
kenlyle
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 31
Status:
Hey Brijesh, 
Joomla just released a critical update, 2.5.3 which fixes a security issue in every version after 1.5.x

This is going to cause substantial pain for your users.  We really need this feature, possibly with the checkboxes, as was suggested earlier.

I can probably clone my VPS and test for you.

Best,
Ken
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

We are working and it might take some time because in some cases it might break the installations hence we need to take care of all the possibilities.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
kenlyle
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 31
Status:
Brijesh,

It's possible that you are being overcautious.
Could you please explain how doing a series of updates in a loop would be different from a user interactively clicking the buttons, and visiting the update URL?

Also, consider that a decent host offers regular backups, and really good hosts have something like R1Soft CDP, which allows point and click rollback.  For Joomla, there is also an extension called Akeeba Backup which packages the files and database.

Certainly, in your license, you have no legal liability?  If you pop up a warning when the feature is enabled, and pop up a warning any time it is attempted to be used, that should be sufficient.  Indeed, you could decline to run or queue any automated version of an update that had not been run manually in the last 60 minutes....meaning... the WHM user is reponsible to run 1 update, verify the results, and only THEN, queue the other updates.

This doesn't have to be a tool that  our grandmothers could use, it's a tool for competent systems administrators.

Besides, I really miss this feature from my old Virtualmin server.

Please consider.
Thanks!


IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

Few scripts require to be visited after to upgrade the database and if the database is not upgraded it could break the site.
We will discuss the above points with our Development team and add this feature soon.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
kenlyle
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 31
Status:
If you *must*, use Virtualmin as your control panel.  Virtualmin Pro has handled mass update for a long time.
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
kenlyle
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 31
Status:
Yeah, but it's not brilliant to leave known security holes on your server either.  That's part of the challenge of hosting.
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
aboutnet
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Any news from Development team about this  ?

-----------------------
;-D  aboutnet goes green...
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

We are working on this and will try to finish it asap.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
likg
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Hello,

Is there any ETA when auto-update feature is implemented? It would be quite logical to leave the final decision to the user. For example, offer to enable automatic scripts update (and keep it off by default) after installation of a script.
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

This feature will be added soon.
Thank you for the suggestion regarding decision by user.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
likg
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Do you have some kind of beta program in which softaculous users can participate? Core point is to test auto upgrade feature.
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

We will let you know once the beta version is ready.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
likg
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Any ETA when beta with the auto upgrade feature is available?
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

We will let you know as soon as it is done.

Thank you for your patience.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
likg
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Hi,

Is there any development in this topic?
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
alons
Group: Administrator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2186
Status:
Hi,

We have this working and we are still developing this.
I dont have an ETA on this, but I can assure you we have done some great progress on this.
And each version we launch is also competing this goal.
e.g. We have been working on the Backups of apps so that our Auto Upgrade will be able to backup an app with minimalistic resources.

We should have this soon now, but I cant give you an ETA. Maybe before XMas.

Regards,
Alons

-----------------------
For immediate support please email us at our Support email address. PMs sent to any Softaculous Team member or posting in the forums is not the official way to get support.

Remote Installer - AEFER
Softaculous Webuzo - It is Softaculous Standalone for Enterprises, SMB, Developers. Deploy it on Dedicated Servers, VPS, Virtual Appliances or the Cloud
Softaculous Virtualizor - The Next Generation VPS Panel
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
aboutnet
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
Dear Softaculous,

Do you have any news about the Auto Upgrade?

Thank you

-----------------------
;-D  aboutnet goes green...
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

Sorry to keep everyone waiting. But we have a good news that this feature is ready and should be available by next week. The version is in the testing stage.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
likg
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 5
Status:
How we can participate in this beta testing?
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

At the moment it is in the internal testing process. We will let you know once we launch Beta version.

You can choose the Update preference as "Release Candidate" in the Softaculous Admin panel -> Settings for the "Auto Update Softaculous" field.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

The Auto Upgrade feature has been added to Softaculous 4.1.7 which has been just launched. Please execute the CRON command to get the latest package :
http://softaculous.com/docs/Immediate_update

This feature is in BETA stage at the moment. Please let us know if you find any bugs.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
mylogon
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 27
Status:
So, when would it run - with the cron, as I see no button to click and update?
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
mylogon
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 27
Status:
Oh, and does it autobackup the old installation?
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

It will require upgrading the script packages which should be done by Monday.

Yes it does auto backup the installation before upgrading and if anything goes wrong it also restores from that backup.

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
ukhost4u
Group: NOC
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 3
Status:
Sounds like a really useful feature. I'm running 4.1.7 but I can't see this feature. Am I missing the obvious? If I go to Installations > Outdated Installations there are plenty that need upgrading (e.g. WordPress) but if I go to Installations > Upgradable it says "No results were found".
IP: --   

Update all Outdated Installations with one click from WHM
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2243
Status:
Hi,

This feature requires script packages to be updated and it might take some time because it requires through testing before updating the package for auto upgrade.
At the moment it is available for Elgg only. We are updating the script packages for this and will be adding it regularly.

And for WordPress it requires a change in Softaculous core so it will be available in the next version i.e. 4.1.8

-----------------------
Facebook
Twitter
Vote for us
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  

1


Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is October 22, 2014, 3:28 pm.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:1.576