Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > Softaculous Auto Installer > General Support > Topic : Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version (9 Replies, Read 34603 times)
Baby
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
When a user tries to install Moodle, the following error message appears:

"This version of Moodle requires PHP version 5.3.2+"

However, the server is already running PHP 5.3.14 (for the public web server).

It is running PHP 5.2.17 for cPanel's internal engine (cPanel will only be switching to 5.3.x from build 11.34), but that should not have anything to do with Moodle's requirements. :)

How does Softaculous check the PHP version on the public web server, and how can we resolve this issue?
IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
jigar
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 27
Status:
Hi,

Softaculous uses 3rdparty PHP Binary.

Can you open a ticket ? so that we can look into it.
http://www.softaculous.com/support
IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 5636
Status:
Hi,

We do check the PHP version for the public web server.
Are you using any module like using an .htaccess to define the PHP version ?
Softaculous determines the default PHP version of the server.

You can also define the PHP version using the Hooks:
http://softaculous.com/docs/Hooks#Define_PHP_Version

-----------------------
Webuzo - Multi User Hosting Control Panel
AMPPS - Best WordPress/PHP/MySQL development tool
IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
Baby
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
Quote From : Brijesh July 30, 2012, 5:40 am
We do check the PHP version for the public web server.
Are you using any module like using an .htaccess to define the PHP version ?
Softaculous determines the default PHP version of the server.


We do not use .htaccess to define the PHP version. There is only 1 version of PHP installed on the cPanel server, which is 5.3.14.

Quote From : Brijesh July 30, 2012, 5:40 am
You can also define the PHP version using the Hooks:
http://softaculous.com/docs/Hooks#Define_PHP_Version


Thanks, this seems to work. Based on your example:

$version = phpversion();
define('php_version', $version);

We modified it to:

$version = 5.3.14;

However it didn't work. So we tried:

$version = "5.3.14";

and it didn't work either.

Finally we had to trick it temporarily by entering 5.4 so that it is higher than Moodle's 5.3.2 requirement:

$version = 5.4;

What is the correct way to specify 5.3.14 in this case?
IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 5636
Status:
Hi,

This should work :
$version = '5.3.14';

-----------------------
Webuzo - Multi User Hosting Control Panel
AMPPS - Best WordPress/PHP/MySQL development tool
IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
Baby
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
Thanks, yes that works. :)
IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
rustelekom
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 2
Status:
We've face same problem. Do you have any ETA when this will sort out? For your note CloudLinux  actively promote PHP selector (it is allow to end user select php version just inside cPanel) so problem will be very important soon.
IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 5636
Status:
Hi,

Sir it seems that you are using .htaccess file to change the PHP version for a directiry for that you can use the following hook :
http://softaculous.com/docs/Hooks#Change_PHP_Version_using_.htaccess

-----------------------
Webuzo - Multi User Hosting Control Panel
AMPPS - Best WordPress/PHP/MySQL development tool
IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
rustelekom
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 2
Status:
Hi,

No, we don't. We use suphp and two version of php yet.  Php handler maintained by setting in suphp.etc + custom virtual host includes (we use cPanel).


IP: --   

Softaculous does not detect correct PHP version
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 5636
Status:
Hi,

Sir you will have to define your method to determine the PHP version here :
http://softaculous.com/docs/Hooks#Define_PHP_Version

Once the PHP version is defined here Softaculous will skip its version check process.

-----------------------
Webuzo - Multi User Hosting Control Panel
AMPPS - Best WordPress/PHP/MySQL development tool
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is March 19, 2024, 3:37 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.351