Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > AMPPS > Suggestions > Topic : Portable version



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Portable version, AMMPS Portable (no installation) version (13 Replies, Read 19742 times)
DrigoZombla
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 2
Status:
Hi,
can you provide a portable version of AMPPS? It's a good idea to have all created websites on a usb stick.
Thanks
IP: --   

Portable version
tidus
Group: Member
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1123
Status:
Quote From : DrigoZombla January 12, 2012, 12:04 pm
Hi,
can you provide a portable version of AMPPS? It's a good idea to have all created websites on a usb stick.
Thanks
Hi,

Thanks. We will discuss this with our developers team.


-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Portable version
TerribleStorm
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 1
Status:
I second this idea. But let me explain more...

I have been messing around with AMPPS for a few days now and have not achieved a satisfactory installation. (And I like to think that I am no dummy; I have been using Apache, PHP, MySQL, etc. for a _long time_, on Linux, Windows and MAC.)

The obvious and most standout problem with AMPPS for Mac is the use of a HARD-CODED directory structure. Hard-coded values are an ancient no-no. On a MAC, the proper place for Apache, for example, is /usr/local/apache/.

Here is a test for you all:

1) Install AMPPS for a MAC, copy out just Apache (/Applications/AMPPS/apache/) and place it into another location (like /usr/local/apache/,  or anywhere for that matter).

2) Get the new copy to work (just as Apache; no PHP, MySQL, etc.).

I'll bet that even you, the developers of AMPPS, will not be able to get this newly copied Apache running.

And I do mean: YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO GET IT RUNNING.

IP: --   

Portable version
tidus
Group: Member
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1123
Status:
Quote From : TerribleStorm January 22, 2012, 3:54 am
I second this idea. But let me explain more...

I have been messing around with AMPPS for a few days now and have not achieved a satisfactory installation. (And I like to think that I am no dummy; I have been using Apache, PHP, MySQL, etc. for a _long time_, on Linux, Windows and MAC.)

The obvious and most standout problem with AMPPS for Mac is the use of a HARD-CODED directory structure. Hard-coded values are an ancient no-no. On a MAC, the proper place for Apache, for example, is /usr/local/apache/.

Here is a test for you all:

1) Install AMPPS for a MAC, copy out just Apache (/Applications/AMPPS/apache/) and place it into another location (like /usr/local/apache/,  or anywhere for that matter).

2) Get the new copy to work (just as Apache; no PHP, MySQL, etc.).

I'll bet that even you, the developers of AMPPS, will not be able to get this newly copied Apache running.

And I do mean: YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO GET IT RUNNING.

Hi,

Sir we agree. In Mac, the binaries are compiled on hard location. You can't change the locations. Location should be exact /Applications/AMPPS.

In Windows, The binaries are downloaded from respective Official Websites.  We have tried to make AMPPS Applications movable, as in you can try copying the whole folder on different drive and run. Also please let us know if you find any bugs, we will try to improve our product as much as possible.

About the portability in External Hard Disk and Other Movable Devices, we are still working on it. 

Thank you for giving the feedback.


-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Portable version
Zender
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Quote From : DrigoZombla January 12, 2012, 12:04 pm
Hi,
can you provide a portable version of AMPPS? It's a good idea to have all created websites on a usb stick.
Thanks
Hy bro i can not do it for you but will you please share some thing about you before i can do this.. We will proud to do this..
IP: --   

Portable version
squiwrl
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 1
Status:
Quote From : DrigoZombla January 12, 2012, 12:04 pm
Hi,
can you provide a portable version of AMPPS? It's a good idea to have all created websites on a usb stick.
Thanks
This would be a WONDERFUL thing! +1 from me. [Im on a mac]

-----------------------
Edmonton Web Design and Development
IP: --   

Portable version
Matteo2013
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 3
Status:
Quote
Hi,

Thanks. We will discuss this with our developers team.
News for a portable version? Thanks.
IP: --   

Portable version
tidus
Group: Member
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1123
Status:
Hi,

This may take little more time. We don't have any ETA yet.

-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Portable version
Matteo2013
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 3
Status:
Quote From : tidus February 13, 2013, 5:12 am
Hi,

This may take little more time. We don't have any ETA yet.
Hi, if you want a BetaTester I'm here. Bye. :-)
IP: --   

Portable version
Kynao
Group: Member
Post Group: Elite Member
Posts: 462
Status:
Very good idea, do we have some evolutions on the subject ?
IP: --   

Portable version
ketan
Group: Member
Post Group: Working Member
Posts: 241
Status:
Hi,

Its in our to do list, but we don't have any ETA for it.

-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter
Facebook
Google+
IP: --   

Portable version
tobalsan
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 1
Status:
Do you guys have any update about this subject ?

I've heard about AMPPS and it looks very interesting to me as a developer (using XAMPP right now). The only thing is that i only swear by portable stuff.

I'm surprised because I stumbled upon a http://chriswiegman.com/2013/05/bye-bye-mamp-pro-hello-ampps/blog post saying that AMPPS is actually portable. But looking at this thread, you make it obvious that AMPPS isn't.

So could you enlighten me about this ?
IP: --   

Portable version
tidus
Group: Member
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1123
Status:
Hi,

He has configured AMPPS with his Dropbox which makes AMPPS portable.

AMPPS Web Root is always /Applications/AMPPS/www. MySQL Data folder is /Applications/AMPPS/var so with the help of symlinks you can configure AMPPS with Dropbox.


-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Portable version
Matteo2013
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 3
Status:
Quote From : tidus February 13, 2013, 5:12 am
Hi,

This may take little more time. We don't have any ETA yet.
Hello tidus. Any update? Thanks and best regards
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is December 21, 2014, 2:40 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.548