Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > AMPPS > General Support > Topic : Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition (6 Replies, Read 4167 times)
Quax
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 23
Status:
Good day.

I was start to "Play" with AMPP systems and had to find that Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition isn't supported by XAMPP and Wamp.

What's about Softaculous AMPPS, will it work on Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition? And what need to be changed/disabled in Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition for to get it work without problems?

Point for me is, I've 2 unused Licenses of Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition and I need an Server System for to test Application build on PHP etc. locally on LAN. There isn't any need of run online while the Finals's will be run on hosted Linux Server.

Thanks for any detailed information.
IP: --   

Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition
tidus
Group: AMPPS Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1093
Status:
Hi,

We haven't tested it on Web-Edition but it should work.

Just install Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Redistributable Package (x86):
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=29

and try running AMPPS.

-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition
Quax
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 23
Status:
Thanks for the answer.

Question for me is: what I need to deactivate/un-install in Server 2003 WebEdition?

For example: IIS is setup on default as well as WebServer and others.

Or let ask me this way: Whjat should NOT running for to setup Ampps on Windows Server 2003 Web Edition?

Thanks for any answer.
IP: --   

Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition
tidus
Group: AMPPS Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1093
Status:
Hi,

Yes Uninstall/Disable IIS. Because it listens on port 80.

Free port 80, 443 and 3306 i.e disable any application that is listening on these port.

MongoDB listens on port 27017 and  port 21 for FileZilla Server.

-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition
Quax
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 23
Status:
I'll prepare the Computer/Server later today and then see if there is anything else which need to be taken care of! That Server will not be online on the Internet, instead on the local Intranet/Lan for testing and developing purpose only.

I'll need to test several Apps to see what will suit or requirements.

Later on, soon after I get use with Ampps, I'll test on Windows 8 as well. I tested Xampp on Windows 8 and it's working out of the Box. As I need to run Xampp on that machine while in development with some Apps, having some slightly problems with Xampp on Windows 7 and Server 2003, finally I would like to change to a system which will work with all of that different OS's. Ans as I own a Lifetime License for Softaculous already, I would like to stay with Softaculous software as much as possible.

Thanks.
IP: --   

Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition
tidus
Group: AMPPS Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1093
Status:
Hi,

Okay. Please let us know if you need any information.

-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Windows Server 2003 Web-Edition
Quax
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 23
Status:
Thanks for that.

At the moment I'm preparing the HDD's while doing a full regenerating of them, which means all the old staff will be gone and the platters are new initialized using degausing. That need a bit of time and run since yesterday. On the end, the hadd will be like new once.

I using to multiple write zero's to the whole Hdd. Also use Acronis Disk Editor for to edit the HDD's for to be sure that all data are gone. Finally I use HDD Regenerator 2011 for degausing. That process is now running on the two HDD's for to run on Raid 1.

And sure, if I face any problems I could not handle or need some more infos, I'll be back here.

Thanks a lot.
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is August 28, 2014, 3:07 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.367