Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > Softaculous Auto Installer > General Support > Topic : Uploading a backup



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Uploading a backup (4 Replies, Read 4516 times)
rebelseo
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 2
Status:
A large backup file essentially doubles the footprint of a site on my server. While Softaculous provides a way to download the backups so that I can store them elsewhere, I don't see how I could ever upload them again. I want to store my backups locally and remove them from the server to free space. Is it possible to put them back up later if I delete them from the server?
IP: --   

Uploading a backup
alons
Group: Administrator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2185
Status:
Hi,

Please put the back in the following folder :
/home/username/softaculous_backups

It will appear in the backups section again.

Regards,
Alons

-----------------------
For immediate support please email us at our Support email address. PMs sent to any Softaculous Team member or posting in the forums is not the official way to get support.

Remote Installer - AEFER
Softaculous Webuzo - It is Softaculous Standalone for Enterprises, SMB, Developers. Deploy it on Dedicated Servers, VPS, Virtual Appliances or the Cloud
Softaculous Virtualizor - The Next Generation VPS Panel
IP: --   

Uploading a backup
bobloveland
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 7
Status:
Ok, I have had an issue with my hosting, and I was smart and did a backup of moodle with the backup option in Softaculous.

I was able to locate, and upload my 813,256KB backup file to the softaculous_backups folder, but the backup does not appear on the backups page in Softaculous to reinstall it.

Thinking I might have picked the wrong folder, I decided to install a empty copy of moodle and run a backup to see if i could locate the file. While the backup was being created, it did appear in the softaculous_backups folder, but when it finished creating the backup,it disappeared out of the folder and went to who knows where. I did look at the backups page, and the empty moodle site is available for download or restorationn, but I can no longer find it anywhere via ftp. The Address for download for the empty moodle is at:
http://webhostingfor.me:2082/cpsess9328116869/frontend/rvskin/softaculous/index.live.php?act=backups&download=moodle.2.2011-05-10_09-07-04.zip

Where is the final destination for backups???


Edited by bobloveland : May 10, 2011, 4:11 pm
IP: --   

Uploading a backup
alons
Group: Administrator
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 2185
Status:
Hi,

Please open a support ticket so that we can look into it.

-----------------------
For immediate support please email us at our Support email address. PMs sent to any Softaculous Team member or posting in the forums is not the official way to get support.

Remote Installer - AEFER
Softaculous Webuzo - It is Softaculous Standalone for Enterprises, SMB, Developers. Deploy it on Dedicated Servers, VPS, Virtual Appliances or the Cloud
Softaculous Virtualizor - The Next Generation VPS Panel
IP: --   

Uploading a backup
bobloveland
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 7
Status:
YAYYy, Thanks to the support team I have the solution to the uploading a backup issue. Here is a copy of the solution so its available when you need it.




           
                           

                   
                        Wed, May 11 2011 12:20am - Brijesh Kothari
                                       
                        Hi,



You cannot see the restore link because the installation does not exist on your new server.

So to restore your installation you can follow these steps:

1) Make a new dummy installation of Moodle on your new server and take a note of the installation id.

2) You can see the installation id when you click on the backup link of
your new installation the last characters in the url will be your id.
For eg: "backup&insid=106" in this case 106 is the id.

3) Now change the installation id in the name of the backup zip that you
have copied of your old installation. In your case
"moodle.2.2011-05-10_09-07-04.zip" is your backup in this
moodle.(2).2011-05-10_09-07-04.zip your installation id is "2" now
replace the new installation id. For eg: if your new installation id is
"5" then the name of your backup zip should be
"moodle.5.2011-05-10_09-07-04.zip"

4) Then place the zip in the softaculous_backups folder and restore your
new moodle dummy installation that you made in the 1st step.

5) And you're done you have restored your installation successfully.
               

                           
                   

                        Wed, May 11 2011 12:40am - Brijesh Kothari
                                       
                        Hi,



I forgot to mention that the Directory name and Database name of your
dummy installation should be same as that of your old installation.


Edited by bobloveland : May 11, 2011, 11:06 am
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is September 17, 2014, 11:36 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 10  |  Page Created In:2.484