Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > AMPPS > General Support > Topic : This site can’t be reached



Threaded Mode | Print  

 This site can’t be reached, Changed Apache port to avoid conflict & installed WordPress, but site unreachable. (5 Replies, Read 11905 times)
seezee
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
System: OS X Yosemite
AMPPS: 4.6.7
PHP version: 5.6

Changes to Apache config: changed all port numbers to 8888 to avoid conflict w/ native Apache server

Installed WP at Applications-->AMPPS-->www-->mysite
Added domain mysite, enabled SSL

Go to localhost[port number]:8888/mysite, redirects to 127 DOT zero DOT zero DOT zero/mysite & all tested browsers say, "This site can’t be reached". Port number stripped on redirect.

Go to [htt ps://] localhost COLON 8888/mysite, browser throws "insecure" error. Overriding the warning results in 500 error.

Sorry about the mangled paths & URLs, but I'm new and not allowed to post links.
IP: --   

This site can’t be reached
Rishi_P
Group: AMPPS Team
Post Group: Elite Member
Posts: 318
Status:
Hi,

You also have to add port no. in your wordpress database.

Try this:

login to localhost:8888/phpmyadmin

Now go to your database and select wp_options

Add port number in your site url and home.

example:  change http://127.0.0.1:80/(your_website) to http://127.0.0.1:8888/(your_website).

We do not recommend you to change port number because every script from Softaculous panel will install on default port 80.

IP: --   

This site can’t be reached
seezee
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Quote From : Rishi_P July 30, 2016, 7:47 am
Hi,

You also have to add port no. in your wordpress database.

Try this:

login to localhost:8888/phpmyadmin

Now go to your database and select wp_options

Add port number in your site url and home.

example:  change http://127.0.0.1:80/(your_website) to http://127.0.0.1:8888/(your_website).

We do not recommend you to change port number because every script from Softaculous panel will install on default port 80.



I'll give that a shot. Any recommendation on either stopping the native OS X Apache server or changing its port so I can use 80 on AMPPS?
IP: --   

This site can’t be reached
Rishi_P
Group: AMPPS Team
Post Group: Elite Member
Posts: 318
Status:
Hi,

Open Terminal and run following commands:

sudo apachectl -k stop
sudo launchctl unload -w /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/org.apache.httpd.plist
IP: --   

This site can’t be reached
seezee
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
OK, I tried both proposed solutions — I still got a refused connection after editing the database, even after restarting Apache & SQL. So I put the config files back to default & killed the native Apache server & restarted the AMPPS servers, still no joy. For some reason it appears AMPPS is still listening on port 8888; I can reach the http://localhost:8888/ampps/index.php?but not http://localhost/ampps/index.php?

What might be binding to that port? I'm positive the Apache config file is back to the default settings.
IP: --   

This site can’t be reached
seezee
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Never mind & thank you. I quit AMPPS, reopened it, and reopened the Apache config & saw that the port number had reverted. Edited it & all is working.
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is June 17, 2019, 3:27 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.262