Softaculous


Topic : Moving to Ammps from MAMP Pro


Posted By: sparrowhawk on April 25, 2015, 8:38 am
Hi guys

Just discovered AMPPS after a recommendation. Currently a MAMP Pro user (Mac) and have a significant number of sites in a folder called username/Sites/

When I try to change change the default document root folder from Ampps/www folder
I get a 403 error

Is it possible to change this root directory?

Posted By: erickb on September 16, 2015, 8:58 am | Post: 1
I have tried to do it bur it doesn't work
there is no easy way to  change physically the root folder , then for me AMPPS os a no way even if it seems very good

Posted By: nikhil89 on September 19, 2015, 10:45 am | Post: 2
Hi,

This issue can be resolved by following the below steps:

-> First stop the Apache & MySQL services from the AMPPS Control Center

-> Now rename Ampps/www directory to another name (here we are renaming the same to _www)
Code
cd /Applications/AMPPS

Code
mv www _www


-> Now create Symbolic link of your root directory inside Ampps Directory.
Code
ln -s  /path/to/username/Sites /Applications/AMPPS/www


-> Start Apache and MySQL services from AMPPS Control Panel

-> Import the MySQL databases from MAMP to AMPPS.

Now you should be able to access your websites from localhost/website_name.

If you still face the issue, please open a support ticket here:
http://softaculous.com/support/

Hope this helps.

Posted By: erickb on September 19, 2015, 10:47 am | Post: 3
Solved with the help of the team

many thanks

Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.