Softaculous


Topic : latin1_swedish_ci --> utf8_general_ci


Posted By: lucky_sevenf on May 10, 2014, 1:25 am
Hi,

It seems that when your script installs WP, it auto creates the database in MySQL that is based on latin1_swedish_ci collation as default.

This should be utf8_general_ci collation for non Latin speaking world:
latin1_swedish_ci --> utf8_general_ci

Can you make this change so that everyone who's using your script can be accommodated including English!

Thx. Ryu

Posted By: Brijesh on May 10, 2014, 7:49 am | Post: 1
Hi,

We use cPanel API to create the database and cPanel sets the default character set for the database to latin1_swedish_ci

We have added the code to change the character set while installing WordPress and will launch the package by the end of day today.

-----------------------
Loginizer - WordPress Security Plugin
Follow us on Twitter

Posted By: Brijesh on May 10, 2014, 2:08 pm | Post: 2
Hi,

We have launched the updated package of WordPress which sets the database character set to utf8_general_ci

Please ask your host to execute the CRON command on your server to get the updated package immediately :
http://www.softaculous.com/docs/Immediate_update

-----------------------
Loginizer - WordPress Security Plugin
Follow us on Twitter

Posted By: lucky_sevenf on May 10, 2014, 5:49 pm | Post: 3
Actually I was referring to your Windows and OSX versions. Are these updated as well?

Thx. Ryu

Posted By: Brijesh on May 11, 2014, 8:05 am | Post: 4
Hi,

Yes those are updated as well. Please refer to the following guide to execute the CRON command in AMPPS :
http://ampps.com/wiki/Category:FAQs#Cron_Command

-----------------------
Loginizer - WordPress Security Plugin
Follow us on Twitter

Posted By: abdulk on November 19, 2014, 4:52 pm | Post: 5
Hello, I downloaded AMPPS today and installed it fresh on my MBP running Yosemite and all my MySQL DBs are using the latin1_swedish_ci collation, including a new install of Prestashop using the included Softaculous installation script.

How can I set the default for ALL DBs to use utf8_general_ci collation?

Thanks,
Abdul

Posted By: Rishi_P on November 20, 2014, 6:27 am | Post: 6
Hi,

Go to localhost/ampps
select phpMyAdmin OR SQlite Manager
select the database then go to Operation tab
Change collation = utf8_general_ci
Thank You

Posted By: Rishi_P on November 20, 2014, 8:11 am | Post: 7
Hi,

For default collation

Open AMPPS control panel --> My SQL tab --> configuration
Find this line default-character-set=
And set to default-character-set=utf8_general_ci.
:D



Posted By: ot2sen on April 3, 2015, 6:00 pm | Post: 8
Hi,
Today I installed ampps 3.0 fresh install, and was having similar issue of getting collation latin1_swedish_ci when installing joomla 3.4.1 using the Softaculous installer.
Took a few tries and found a solution that works at stack Exchange http://stackoverflow.com/questions/3513773/change-mysql-default-character-set-to-utf-8-in-my-cnf

Open AMPPS control panel --> MySQL tab --> configuration
Adjust so that you have these lines added/corrected:
[client]default-character-set=utf8


[mysql]
default-character-set=utf8



[mysqld]
collation-server = utf8_unicode_ci
init-connect='SET NAMES utf8'
character-set-server = utf8
Restarted and next joomla 3.4.1 install via Softaculous did have collation utf8_generic_ci :)

Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.