Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > Virtualizor - Virtual Server Control Panel > General Support > Topic : I can't create KVM vm bigger than 2TB



Threaded Mode | Print  

 I can't create KVM vm bigger than 2TB (4 Replies, Read 1541 times)
AnotherProvider
Group: NOC
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
I'm testing virtulizor over proxmox with thin lvm and everything is working fine exact when I try to create a vm bigger than 2TB partition

root@node002:~# vgs
  VG    #PV #LV #SN Attr  VSize  VFree
  pve      1  2  0 wz--n- 199.75g 118.00g
  vmdata  1  2  0 wz--n-  4.60t 710.95g

LV            VG    Attr      LSize  Pool      Origin Data%  Meta%  Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
  root          pve    -wi-ao---- 49.75g
  swap          pve    -wi-ao---- 32.00g
thin-pool      vmdata twi-aotz--  3.91t                  15.24  8.04
  vm-1047-disk-1 vmdata Vwi-aotz--  3.91t thin-pool        15.24

The lv is created with the right size and inside the vm /dev/vda is also create with the right size

fdisk -l

Disk /dev/vda: 4295.0 GB, 4294967296000 bytes, 8388608000 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk label type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x000b136f

But the partition is not created with the full disk space:
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/vda1      1.9T  1.2G  1.8T  1% /


I know the workaround would be to create a second partition with the remaining space but is not what I need

Any solution? I'm using virtualizor template centos-7.5-x86_64.img proxmox
IP: --   

I can't create KVM vm bigger than 2TB
murmaider
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 3
Status:
The VM disk would need to be gpt labelled, but I am not sure if virtualizor (or your current version of libvirt / qemu supports this). Rather attach multiple vdisk to the VM.
IP: --   

I can't create KVM vm bigger than 2TB
AnotherProvider
Group: NOC
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Quote From : murmaider August 23, 2018, 12:26 pm
The VM disk would need to be gpt labelled, but I am not sure if virtualizor (or your current version of libvirt / qemu supports this). Rather attach multiple vdisk to the VM.


Thanks, I  think the limitation is in the template but I haven't tried with my own iso yet
IP: --   

I can't create KVM vm bigger than 2TB
kaushal
Group: Virtualizor Team
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 46
Status:
Quote From : AnotherProvider August 9, 2018, 1:56 pm
I'm testing virtulizor over proxmox with thin lvm and everything is working fine exact when I try to create a vm bigger than 2TB partition

root@node002:~# vgs
  VG    #PV #LV #SN Attr  VSize  VFree
  pve      1  2  0 wz--n- 199.75g 118.00g
  vmdata  1  2  0 wz--n-  4.60t 710.95g

LV            VG    Attr      LSize  Pool      Origin Data%  Meta%  Move Log Cpy%Sync Convert
  root          pve    -wi-ao---- 49.75g
  swap          pve    -wi-ao---- 32.00g
thin-pool      vmdata twi-aotz--  3.91t                  15.24  8.04
  vm-1047-disk-1 vmdata Vwi-aotz--  3.91t thin-pool        15.24

The lv is created with the right size and inside the vm /dev/vda is also create with the right size

fdisk -l

Disk /dev/vda: 4295.0 GB, 4294967296000 bytes, 8388608000 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk label type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x000b136f

But the partition is not created with the full disk space:
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/vda1      1.9T  1.2G  1.8T  1% /


I know the workaround would be to create a second partition with the remaining space but is not what I need

Any solution? I'm using virtualizor template centos-7.5-x86_64.img proxmox


You need to use GPT labelled disk.

-----------------------
-----------------------
Regards,
Kaushal Vora
Virtualizor Team.
http://virtualizor.com/
IP: --   

I can't create KVM vm bigger than 2TB
tashkas
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
try iso, they made all images in dos which dont work over 2tb
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
2 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is December 12, 2018, 6:04 pm.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.202