Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > Softaculous Auto Installer > General Support > Topic : Possible to choose where you "Push to Live" (WordPress)?



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Possible to choose where you "Push to Live" (WordPress)? (6 Replies, Read 550 times)
rseiler
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Up to now we have used Softaculous staging/Push to Live in the traditional way, where we're choosing to stage our actual site and then pushing changes back to it after testing.

However, we want to start over with the site, but it will take a lot of time to do so and want the live site to continue as is in the interim. So, using Softaculous I made a new install of WordPress on the side (let's call it Fresh) and then staged it, which will be the site we'll build up (let's call it Rebuild).

However, I found when exploring Push to Live next to Rebuild that there's no choice of where it's pushed. Of course, in this case, it would push to "Fresh."

Is there a way to point it to our main site, which is also listed in Softaculous?

If not, is there another way of going about this whole thing? I'm probably making this more complicated than need be, but the only other thing I can think of is to stage the real site and then go through various procedures to reset the staged site, like this:

pagely.com/blog/reset-wordpress-website-without-plugin
IP: --   

Possible to choose where you "Push to Live" (WordPress)?
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 4463
Status:
Hi,

You can try the Clone feature. You can uninstall the destination installation first and then Clone your staging site to any location within the control panel account.

If you face any issues you can open a support ticket here :
https://softaculous.deskuss.com/

-----------------------
SitePad Website Builder
Follow us on Twitter
IP: --   

Possible to choose where you "Push to Live" (WordPress)?
rseiler
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Oh, that wouldn't have occurred to me. Thanks.
IP: --   

Possible to choose where you "Push to Live" (WordPress)?
rseiler
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Quote From : Brijesh January 14, 2020, 2:53 pm
Hi,

You can try the Clone feature. You can uninstall the destination installation first and then Clone your staging site to any location within the control panel account.

When you say "try," does that mean that you're unsure if it's supposed to work?

The clone feature really doesn't want to copy over something already existing:

"The directory you typed already exists! Please type in another directory name."

Does the Clone feature only work to a blank area? Is so, that's going to be a problem, because the area in question is public_html.

By "uninstall" did you mean something different than the "Remove from Softaculous" feature, which I what I assumed you meant and all I did before attempting the clone? Maybe you really mean "delete" or "rename the directory."

Maybe Clone isn't the way to go.
IP: --   

Possible to choose where you "Push to Live" (WordPress)?
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 4463
Status:
Hi,

By uninstalling I meant to choose "Remove Completely" which will delete the directory and database and then you can Clone.

Clone will not allow to proceed if the directory is not empty.

-----------------------
SitePad Website Builder
Follow us on Twitter
IP: --   

Possible to choose where you "Push to Live" (WordPress)?
rseiler
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 4
Status:
Understood. In that case, it probably makes more sense instead to go the Staging route, then blank out that staged site following the above article (it's pretty easy), and then eventually push it to live that way. One advantage is that a backup occurs as part of the process.
IP: --   

Possible to choose where you "Push to Live" (WordPress)?
Brijesh
Group: Softaculous Team
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 4463
Status:
Sure you can use the Staging route.

-----------------------
SitePad Website Builder
Follow us on Twitter
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is February 26, 2020, 7:01 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.231