Softaculous


Topic : Wordpress Migration


Posted By: ozace on April 13, 2016, 7:55 am
Your clone facility for Wordpress is excellent but it would be really great to be able to provide a facility to copy the Wordpress site to another domain name (ie for testing ) and at the same time fixing up all the database issues that such a move gives.

The cloning does a lot of this but taking it a bit further so that you can create a backup that Softaculous on another site can import would be very good. (I find that none of the plugins out there have worked for me).

Cloning is fine but suffers from inheriting some of the issues raised from the production site (eg caching which would be nice to remove from a test system)

Jim

Posted By: Brijesh on April 14, 2016, 9:39 am | Post: 1
Hi,

The Clone functionality replicates the complete installation and you can do it on another domain if that domain exists in the same control panel account.

If you want to Clone your installation to another server/account you can use the Remote Import Utility :
http://www.softaculous.com/docs/Remote_Import

-----------------------
SitePad Website Builder
Follow us on Twitter

Posted By: ozace on April 15, 2016, 4:30 pm | Post: 2
The clone service takes care of paths etc in the Wordpress mySQL database so that everything works fine after the move. From what I can read the remote import doesn't do this it simply copies? So if I remote import say domain.com into domain.net then will the WP database be updated to handle the change in domain name?

cheers

Jim

Posted By: Brijesh on April 20, 2016, 1:08 pm | Post: 3
Hi,

Remote Import will also update the path, URL, etc in database as well as files so you will not need to make these changes manually.

-----------------------
SitePad Website Builder
Follow us on Twitter

Posted By: ozace on April 20, 2016, 3:24 pm | Post: 4
WORKED GREAT - THANKS - THIS IS A BRILLIANT APP

Posted By: jafarpp on December 17, 2017, 1:12 am | Post: 5
My domain has been expired, but hosting account still exists. Is it possible to migrate/clone my existing WordPress site to another hosting account with a different domain name since having complete access to old server file manager?

Posted By: Brijesh on December 18, 2017, 7:54 am | Post: 6
Hi,

You can change the URL for your WordPress installation in `options` table in the database to a temporary URL which will work even if the domain has expired. E.g. http://YOURIP/~USERNAME

Here YOURIP is the IP of your server and USERNAME is your cPanel username.

So your installation will be accessible at this URL.

Now confirm if the WordPress installation is accessible with this URL and then in the remote import form on your new server input the source URL as this URL.

This should work.

If you face any issues let us know.

-----------------------
SitePad Website Builder
Follow us on Twitter

Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.