Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > AMPPS > General Support > Topic : Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost, Setup AMPPS with IP (7 Replies, Read 14569 times)
nemo656
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 2
Status:
I just installed AMPPS to act as an in home web server to run some development work stations and serve some home made PHP apps. I love it! Was so simple to install and it allowed me to easily checkout some new scripts. BUT.....

The computer I run AMPPS on is in my little server closet and I and my buddy do all the dev work on workstations, located in various rooms away from the server. My question is how can I set up or install AMPPS to be bound to the server IP 192.168.1.50 instead of 127.0.0.1 or the local host? I tried editing the APACHE config to direct all port 80 traffic to the static IP but that screws up any use of the AMPPS control panel as it seems to want to use LOCALHOST or 127.0.0.1

Am I making sense for what I want to do? I want it to act like a real LAN server using it's static IP instead of localhost.

Thanks
Have a great day
Jim
IP: --   

Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost
nemo656
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 2
Status:
Quote From : nemo656 October 27, 2015, 5:12 pm
I just installed AMPPS to act as an in home web server to run some development work stations and serve some home made PHP apps. I love it! Was so simple to install and it allowed me to easily checkout some new scripts. BUT.....

The computer I run AMPPS on is in my little server closet and I and my buddy do all the dev work on workstations, located in various rooms away from the server. My question is how can I set up or install AMPPS to be bound to the server IP 192.168.1.50 instead of 127.0.0.1 or the local host? I tried editing the APACHE config to direct all port 80 traffic to the static IP but that screws up any use of the AMPPS control panel as it seems to want to use LOCALHOST or 127.0.0.1

Am I making sense for what I want to do? I want it to act like a real LAN server using it's static IP instead of localhost.

Thanks
Have a great day
Jim


I guess the support here is not what I expected. Off to find another solution.
-Jim
IP: --   

Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost
Rishi_P
Group: AMPPS Team
Post Group: Elite Member
Posts: 318
Status:
Hi,

You can add a domain and access your domain over LAN.

follow this guide:
http://www.ampps.com/wiki/Adding_a_Domain
IP: --   

Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost
sosialtnett
Group: Member
Post Group: Working Newbie
Posts: 75
Status:
Maybe this can help you!

1
First you must configure your router to accept port 80. You should have one machine on a port on your router and the other computer on another port. The port you have ampps installed should have port 80. However, this depends on your router and the router you have. Se this link: How To Forward Ports on Your Router

2.
You must obtain a domain. That to obtain free here: Get a Free .TK Domain Name

3.So you need to obtain a free dynamic DNS service provider. There you have here: free dynamic DNS service

4.
When you add domain in ampps, then you take it unchecked for "Is Domain Addon or Parked?" so att you only see localhost number.

Once you install your blog, then select the domain in the installation of the blog.

Now it's no longer just you who see your blog, but everyone else on the internet. You have a dedicated server. How email system works in relation to this, I do not, do not use the online email system Oxwall.

When it comes to ftp to this system, then you only have access to offline ftp "localhost" + username and password you used when you Add FTP Account. You type "localhost" username and password when you install additional / configure in your blog. Are you having online ftp, you must hire an online server host.

This is one way to do it.

The other is and set up one local network between your two computers. But this you must ask in a different forum, where discussing such

But a safety tip from me here, before you open your blog to the world.
Install a good firewall and antivirus program on your computer. And you have the opportunity for it, so install security plugin in your blog if it exists! Be sure and use robust username and password on both ampps, localhost ftp and your blog. One should make it as difficult for hackers as possible by using both uppercase and lowercase letters, numbers and special characters in all username and password, admin, ftp, databases, etc. Be sure to you that you have taken these precautions before you open your blog to the world via one domain with dynamic ip.

But nothing is 100%. Not for anyone, not even for other suppliers of webhost.
IP: --   

Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost
sosialtnett
Group: Member
Post Group: Working Newbie
Posts: 75
Status:
Trouble vid the link in my help! try this: http://www.softaculous.com/board/index.php?tid=8295&title=Syncing_installed_scripts
IP: --   

Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost
waleeed1
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 1
Status:
First you must configure your router to accept port 80. You should have one machine on a port on your router and the other computer on another port. The port you have ampps installed should have port 80. However, this depends on your router and the router you have. Se this link: How To Forward Ports on Your Router

-----------------------
== www.solitairechamp.info ==
IP: --   

Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost
tris432
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 1
Status:
Quote From : sosialtnett November 11, 2015, 2:53 pm
Maybe this can help you!

1
First you must configure your router to accept port 80. You should have one machine on a port on your router and the other computer on another port. The port you have ampps installed should have port 80. However, this depends on your router and the router you have. Se this link: How To Forward Ports on Your Router

2.
You must obtain a domain. That to obtain free here: Get a Free .TK Domain Name

3.So you need to obtain a free dynamic DNS service provider. There you have here: free dynamic DNS service

4.
When you add domain in ampps, then you take it unchecked for "Is Domain Addon or Parked?" so att you only see localhost number.

Once you install your blog, then select the domain in the installation of the blog.

Now it's no longer just you who see your blog, but everyone else on the internet. You have a dedicated server. How email system works in relation to this, I do not, do not use the online email system Oxwall.

When it comes to ftp to this system, then you only have access to offline ftp "localhost" + username and password you used when you Add FTP Account. You type "localhost" username and password when you install additional / configure in your blog. Are you having online ftp, you must hire an online server host.

This is one way to do it.

The other is and set up one local network between your two computers. But this you must ask in a different forum, where discussing such

But a safety tip from me here, before you open your blog to the world.
Install a good firewall and antivirus program on your computer. And you have the opportunity for it, so install security plugin in your blog if it exists! Be sure and use robust username and password on both ampps, localhost ftp and your blog. One should make it as difficult for hackers as possible by using both uppercase and lowercase letters, numbers and special characters in all username and password, admin, ftp, databases, etc. Be sure to you that you have taken these precautions before you open your blog to the world via one domain with dynamic ip.

But nothing is 100%. Not for anyone, not even for other suppliers of webhost.


The only downside to a .tk is it means you are not protected and you dont have full control to your site. Anyone can hack it without any issues and there is no DNSSEC, no IDN or IPv6. Which is most important as most site are moveing to IPv6, but does have SLD. .com is the most secured domain name to use with all the boxes ticked IDN, DNSEC, SLD and IPv6 ready. so your best bet is to go with the most secured domain name that will protect you from you web data from being stolen.
IP: --   

Use IP address rather than 127.0.0.1 or localhost
erickb
Group: Member
Post Group: Working Newbie
Posts: 99
Status:
we dont want to add a domain but replace localhost or 127.0.0.1  by http://192.168.178.20  (in my case)
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is September 18, 2019, 7:20 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 11  |  Page Created In:0.360