Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > SitePad Website Builder > General Support > Topic : How to Prevent Publishing!!



Threaded Mode | Print  

 How to Prevent Publishing!!, Site Published while still editing. (8 Replies, Read 3426 times)
RaveWolf
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 9
Status:
It's been about a year or two since I used Sitepad...
My Site was Published by Default before I could even finish editing it. This caused my currently existing site to get all messed up with a now barely edited template!!

There is also no option to unpublish your site.
I had to go into the root folder to delete all the files from Sitepad and republish my previous edit from another app.

How do I edit my site without it being published until I am FINISHED editing?
Does this option still exist, or must I look elsewhere?

Thanks.
IP: --   

How to Prevent Publishing!!
RaveWolf
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 9
Status:
To add insult to injury... Deleting those files from the server has also affected my Edits. This means SitePad is a live edit system now.
Since when in the IT industry do you edit a live system???
This goes against Development Policies!!
IP: --   

How to Prevent Publishing!!
MicroDrie
Group: Member
Post Group: Working Member
Posts: 148
Status:
Quote
Since when in the IT industry do you edit a live system???

As a Dutch person I will not be liked, but I think the average Dutch person has a very bad habit of immediately using something. Only when things go wrong do we look up and read the supplied manual to understand how we could have worked better.

We can learn how to build a beautiful house with a hammer, but there are people who use the same hammer to smash into someone else's brain.

Just as it is too simplistic to see a hammer as a murder weapon only, it is also too simplistic to say that SitePad does not distinguish between a production and a development environment.

Firstly, you can make an adjustment in a web page of the live environment without saving it. You can then test the modified version next to the existing production environment. If the adjustment is not satisfactory, you simply throw away the changed page without affecting the production environment.

If you are happy with the adaptation, but you don't want to put it into production yet, you can mark it as personal or declare it as a draft version.

And if you save the modified version, just save the definitions in a database without the modification(s) being implemented in the production environment.

Then of course you also have the option to save the definitions of a web page stored in the database with a backup / restore action or to restore them to an earlier version.

Yes, then as a last step you can update the published web page by making the changes in the live environment.

Of course, without having read the manual and without having used the smart options, as a Dutch person, I can implement the changes directly in the live environment. Not preferred, but if you get it right right away without making mistakes, it's a quick method.

So the answer to your question: "Since when in the IT industry do you edit a live system???" is therefore:
Quote
Since the Dutch immediately started working without a manual
(sorry fellow countrymen).
IP: --   

How to Prevent Publishing!!
RaveWolf
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 9
Status:
Quote From : MicroDrie June 5, 2021, 1:51 pm
Quote
Since when in the IT industry do you edit a live system???

As a Dutch person I will not be liked, but I think the average Dutch person has a very bad habit of immediately using something. Only when things go wrong do we look up and read the supplied manual to understand how we could have worked better.

We can learn how to build a beautiful house with a hammer, but there are people who use the same hammer to smash into someone else's brain.

Just as it is too simplistic to see a hammer as a murder weapon only, it is also too simplistic to say that SitePad does not distinguish between a production and a development environment.

Firstly, you can make an adjustment in a web page of the live environment without saving it. You can then test the modified version next to the existing production environment. If the adjustment is not satisfactory, you simply throw away the changed page without affecting the production environment.

If you are happy with the adaptation, but you don't want to put it into production yet, you can mark it as personal or declare it as a draft version.

And if you save the modified version, just save the definitions in a database without the modification(s) being implemented in the production environment.

Then of course you also have the option to save the definitions of a web page stored in the database with a backup / restore action or to restore them to an earlier version.

Yes, then as a last step you can update the published web page by making the changes in the live environment.

Of course, without having read the manual and without having used the smart options, as a Dutch person, I can implement the changes directly in the live environment. Not preferred, but if you get it right right away without making mistakes, it's a quick method.

So the answer to your question: "Since when in the IT industry do you edit a live system???" is therefore:
Quote
Since the Dutch immediately started working without a manual
(sorry fellow countrymen).


Awesome, thanks for the Additional Insult... It's most needed these days...
SitePad never used to be like that, and in fact NO application that I know of in my 25+ years of development makes anything Live by default unless you tell it to.

Besides, WHAT DOCUMENTATION, Where??? When you click on SitePad from cPanel, it immediately goes straight into Development without ANY documentation. or explanation of the New changes and processes.
If you're referring to this documentation https://sitepad.com/docs/enduser/create-website/ Then YES I DID read it, but KNOWHERE does it state ANYTHING about it being LIVE from the Start. At least not I could see. Again, it never used to be live from the start. You always had to Publish it yourself when you were ready.
IP: --   

How to Prevent Publishing!!
MicroDrie
Group: Member
Post Group: Working Member
Posts: 148
Status:
First of all, as a Dutchman I didn't want to offend anyone, I and like most Dutch people really start without reading the manual first.

And yes, I also had to learn a lot because as a frugal Dutchman I naturally also started with a license for only one website. Really stupid, of course, because if I had chosen for the multiple licenses option, I could have started setting up a test environment before going live.

I have learned a lot through trial and error how to do it better. And yes, about that documentation, I agree 200% that it's very difficult to figure out exactly what impact an option will have.

My explanation for the quality of software documentation is best described as: There is a terribly good programmer (sometimes called a nerd) who writes a terribly clever program. Unfortunately for him, an hour before the weekend starts, the boss asks if he can still write some documentation. The nerd has good intentions, it's all true, but ..... indeed usually incomprehensible and impossible to follow for the beginner.

And yes I understand your frustration, I understand why it went wrong, but it is fair to say that by pressing the publish button you make the site live. This has nothing to do with an insult, but the justified frustration at the lack of documentation.

IP: --   

How to Prevent Publishing!!
RaveWolf
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 9
Status:
Quote From : MicroDrie June 5, 2021, 10:47 pm
First of all, as a Dutchman I didn't want to offend anyone, I and like most Dutch people really start without reading the manual first.

And yes, I also had to learn a lot because as a frugal Dutchman I naturally also started with a license for only one website. Really stupid, of course, because if I had chosen for the multiple licenses option, I could have started setting up a test environment before going live.

I have learned a lot through trial and error how to do it better. And yes, about that documentation, I agree 200% that it's very difficult to figure out exactly what impact an option will have.

My explanation for the quality of software documentation is best described as: There is a terribly good programmer (sometimes called a nerd) who writes a terribly clever program. Unfortunately for him, an hour before the weekend starts, the boss asks if he can still write some documentation. The nerd has good intentions, it's all true, but ..... indeed usually incomprehensible and impossible to follow for the beginner.

And yes I understand your frustration, I understand why it went wrong, but it is fair to say that by pressing the publish button you make the site live. This has nothing to do with an insult, but the justified frustration at the lack of documentation.



Frustrated yes... and I do understand what you are saying, however... There is NO Publish Option.
Let me explain the steps that I followed going a little back.

1) I created a site using another app which works fine, but a little limited.
2) Needing a few options that SitePad offers, I opted to go with SitePad once again.
* Keep in mind that my site is live with the other software which does not publish until I say so.
3) I followed the Process via cPanel as follows.
  a) Click on SitePad, it says "Get started".
  b) "Select a Theme"... Clicked "Select"
  c) Then it asks to "Enter your Site Details"
  d) Then... "Proceed with Install"
4) Once I click on Install, it overwrites my current site without asking me first.
5) It also does so if I select "Enable Dev Mode", except now it has a page that says "Under construction".

I don't want it to overwrite my existing site until I'm ready. There is still other content that I am waiting for in order to complete or finalise it... Where is the logic in replacing something that already exists with something that is incomplete or is just a template?

They have really done a terrible job with their update.
FYI, Why do you keep bringing up Dutch... What's that got to do with anything?
On the same note you basically tell me to RTM, then come back and say you agree that it is useless. So which is it?'

Anyway, this back and forth about the Dutch is not helping me resolve this issue.
IP: --   

How to Prevent Publishing!!
MicroDrie
Group: Member
Post Group: Working Member
Posts: 148
Status:
Quote
FYI, Why do you keep bringing up Dutch... What's that got to do with anything?

My choice, based on my Dutch greed, to buy SitePad with only one website license excludes that I can first try things in a test site. With such a choice, I find it hard to demand that there be a complete separation between production and development environment.

That said, I do think there is a degree of software separation between production and development. But the software separation between production and development is not the same as a complete physical separation between production and development environment.

Quote

4) Once I click on Install, it overwrites my current site without asking me first.
5) It also does so if I select "Enable Dev Mode", except now it has a page that says "Under construction".


I think you are absolutely right on this point. This experience is exactly the point that makes me very hesitant to test another theme in the live website. I think we and probably many more users are all missing the option to install a new SitePad theme next to an existing website theme or existing website without installing an under construction home page and with the possibility to do a step by step updating and merging the existing and new web pages.

Apart from your justified frustration with how your migration went, it is also of interest to other users who want to upgrade their existing theme to a newer mobile aware theme.

Before we start asking for a software fix, are there any other people who have experience with things going wrong by merging with an existing website?

IP: --   

How to Prevent Publishing!!
RaveWolf
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 9
Status:
Thanks for the responses, and apologies for the abruptness.

Just pondering... If we were to create a "New Site", and place it into a subfolder, would the Server know or would SitePad put a redirect!? Would the Server ignore it because according to the Server, the Root folder is the starting point unless the Server Dev Team changes it.
It doesn't look like I have the option to do so myself on my current system.

My theory is we can use the Subfolder as aa Dev Site (so to speak) and then just copy everything over once it's done and ready.
IP: --   

How to Prevent Publishing!!
MicroDrie
Group: Member
Post Group: Working Member
Posts: 148
Status:
I'm also not exactly sure how SitePad works, it's a black box to me. What I suspect is that when you create a web page, you store the used widget(s) in a database with a separate table for each web page.

Depending on the status "Draft", or "Prived", a web page is published in a temporary web page. With the status "Publish" the web page is published in the live environment. I think a SitePad backup is a backup of that database.

So if you are going to use a SitePad theme next to an existing website, you should first rebuild the Home page and associated menu and test it in the temporary environment. For the structure of the menu, it does not matter which web page you refer to. If everything is to your liking you could publish the new Home page in the live environment.

Only if the SitePad design resists a multi-themed environment, I don't think it's that much trouble to offer the option to choose between a completely new website or the integration of a SitePad theme next to the existing live environment that is managed or not by SitePad.

Such a solution would also make it much easier to replace an existing theme with a newer theme. Before we ask for a software upgrade for this, the question is whether we can work with this without losing information or are we overlooking something?
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is October 28, 2021, 3:01 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 10  |  Page Created In:5.928