Softaculous


Topic : zip.so extension


Posted By: kamov on October 20, 2014, 9:14 am
Hi

I try add extension=zip.so to php.ini (was already present but commented).

Then I restart apache, but extension seem always missing.

how to fix this?

Posted By: amit.s on October 21, 2014, 12:01 pm | Post: 1
1. Open AMPPS Application ->Stop Apache (If running)
2 In "PHP" Tab -> "PHP Extension"
3. Enable "zip.so".
4. Apply
5. Restart Apache.

Posted By: kamov on October 21, 2014, 12:19 pm | Post: 2
@rex_A thanks for your reply.

I know about that features, however zip.so is missing from that list, so is not possible enable from that.

For this reason I edit php.ini manually and uncommented extension=zip.so

Any suggestions?

Posted By: rocketscientist75 on October 21, 2014, 8:23 pm | Post: 3
Quote From : rex_A October 21, 2014, 12:01 pm
1. Open AMPPS Application ->Stop Apache (If running)
2 In "PHP" Tab -> "PHP Extension"
3. Enable "zip.so".
4. Apply
5. Restart Apache.


I also need zip.so extension in order to create a new project with Laravel. Unfortunately that extension does not seem to be an option.

I'm running Mac OS X Yosemite with AMPPS 4.5.4. If anyone has some input on how to add that functionality please let me know.

Thank you!

Eric

Posted By: rocketscientist75 on October 22, 2014, 2:28 pm | Post: 4
After some research I determined the best way to resolve this issue was to compile the zip.so extension. Here are a few notes from the process. I performed this on Mac OS X 10.10 (Yosemite) for PHP 5.6 running under AMPPS. I also had the most recent version of Xcode installed as well.

1) Download, compile and install zlib-1.2.8 (http://www.zlib.net)
2) Download the Zip package (1.12.4) from http://pecl.php.net/package/zip
3) Run the following commands
$ cd {extracted Zip package directory}

$ /Applications/AMPPS/php/bin/phpize

$ ./configure CFLAGS="-arch i386" --with-php config="/Applications/AMPPS/php/bin/php-config"

$ make

$ make install

Hopefully everything will compile correctly and you can move the zip.so file into /Applications/AMPPS/php/lib/extensions/ext and it will show up as an available extension to activate within AMPPS

Compiling a module is very system dependent, and hopefully this will help point someone else in the right direction. Although the above steps worked for me I make no guarantees, etc. etc. Proceed with caution and at your own risk.

Good luck!

Posted By: rebelde on October 22, 2014, 7:42 pm | Post: 5
I'm having the same problem with AMMPS under Yosemite.  Could you be more specific about the proper way to compile and install the extension?

Posted By: rocketscientist75 on October 22, 2014, 7:59 pm | Post: 6
Quote From : rebelde October 22, 2014, 7:42 pm
I'm having the same problem with AMMPS under Yosemite.  Could you be more specific about the proper way to compile and install the extension?


I'll try though I have to confess I'm not a definitive expert at compiling modules myself. Through a lot of trial and error and Googling error messages I finally made it work.

First, make sure you have Xcode installed and are comfortable using Terminal. A quick test to make sure Xcode is installed would be to type "gcc -v". I'll include the output from my machine below.

Then download the two items I mentioned. I just saved them to my desktop and extracted them there. Using the terminal enter the directory for zlib and to compile it type these commands

./configure
make
sudo make install.

After it's installed use the "cd" command to enter the directory for Zip and execute the commands in Terminal exactly as I have them there. If you get any error messages feel free to post them in the thread and I'll try to answer best I can. 

Posted By: rebelde on October 22, 2014, 9:45 pm | Post: 7
Following with this adventure, I successfully compiled zlib as rocketscientist75 kindly explained.

Next I tried
$ /Applications/AMPPS/php/bin/phpize

but I got the following output:
Configuring for:
PHP Api Version:        20121113
Zend Module Api No:      20121212
Zend Extension Api No:  220121212
Cannot find autoconf. Please check your autoconf installation and the
$PHP_AUTOCONF environment variable. Then, rerun this script.

After a few tries with Google, I found THIS POST that helped me compile and install autoconf

I ran phpize again but now I have a different error:
fatal error: 'php.h' file not found

Now I'm stuck again  :(

Posted By: kamov on October 23, 2014, 5:28 am | Post: 8
I want invest my time to code instaed of compile extensions....

Please add this feature. Right now only solution is use MAMP which have this extension enabled by default

Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.