Welcome Guest. Please Login or Register  


You are here: Index > AMPPS > General Support > Topic : Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so



Threaded Mode | Print  

 Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so (9 Replies, Read 19867 times)
matthieu.b
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
Hi,

1. OS Name with Version
Mac OS X 10.8.5 Mountain Lion

2. AMPPS Version
4.4.3. Recently upgraded from the previous version.

Optional:
3. Logs (Apache, MySQL)
Apache
Code
PHP Warning:  PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so' - dlopen(/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so, 9): Library not loaded: /opt/X11/lib/libXpm.4.dylib\n  Referenced from: /Applications/AMPPS/extra/lib/libgd.3.dylib\n  Reason: image not found in Unknown on line 0
[Wed Feb 26 09:21:23.954856 2014] [mpm_prefork:notice] [pid 683] AH00163: Apache/2.4.7 (Unix) PHP/5.5.9 mod_wsgi/3.4 Python/2.7.2 OpenSSL/1.0.0d configured -- resuming normal operations


4. Steps to reproduce the error
- Switch to PHP 5.5 in the configuration window.

5. Expected Result
Library loaded, no warnings. Using PHP 5.4 does not throw any.


6. Your modified apache, php or mysql conf files(if you have changed and can share with us)
Recent install, files not modified

Thanks for your help,

Matthieu
IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
matthieu.b
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
I also noted I could not open the PHP configuration file through the menus while using PHP 5.5.

Here is a diff of the current configuration file vs the original :

Code
diff /Applications/AMPPS/conf/original-php-5.5.ini /Applications/AMPPS/conf/php-5.5.ini
405c405
< memory_limit = 128M
---
> memory_limit = 256M
804c804
< upload_max_filesize = 2M
---
> upload_max_filesize = 8M
1966c1966
< ;extension=gd.so
---
> extension=gd.so
1968c1968
< extension=zlib.so
---
> extension=zlib.so
\ No newline at end of file


I tried commenting out extension=gd.so but it did not make a difference. This line is uncommented in the PHP 5.4 configuration file.

Matthieu
IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
tidus
Group: Member
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1121
Status:
Hi,

4.4.3 is Softaculous version. AMPPS version can be found in AMPPS Application -> Help Tab -> About.

GD is statically build in the new version of AMPPS i.e 2.3.
So no need to specify extension=gd.so in php.ini of PHP 5.5

You can confirm the PHP version, which should be 5.5.9 :
Code
/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/bin/php -v


And gd module should be listed here :
Code
/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/bin/php -m


If php version is not 5.5.9 then you are using older version.


-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
matthieu.b
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
Ok, I think I got mislead by http://localhost/ampps-admin/ where it says
Code
AMPPS Version : 4.4.3


Anyway, I confirm I am running AMPPS 2.3.

$ /Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/bin/php -v (warnings removed in the output)
Code

PHP 5.5.9 (cli) (built: Feb 20 2014 15:18:58)
Copyright (c) 1997-2014 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.5.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2014 Zend Technologies


$ /Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/bin/php -m | grep gd (warnings removed in the output)
Code
gd

IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
tidus
Group: Member
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1121
Status:
Hi,

Remove the line extension=gd.so  from php.ini and the warnings should go away. Edit the php.ini from AMPPS Application -> PHP Tab -> Configuration.

You can directly start using gd functions now.


Edited by tidus : February 26, 2014, 7:54 pm

-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
matthieu.b
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
Thanks for your suggestion Tidus. I tried removing that line by directly editing /Applications/AMPPS/conf/php-5.5.ini (going through the menus when PHP 5 is selected does not open any text editor, although it works for PHP 4). The system detects the change but the warnings remain, both in php CLI and on the AMPPS admin page.
IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
tidus
Group: Member
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1121
Status:
Hi,

Okay. You can directly change /Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/etc/php.ini and remove that line also make sure you have removed the same line from /Applications/AMPPS/conf/php-5.5.ini

Then run :

Code
/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/bin/php -v


and let us know the output.


-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
matthieu.b
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
Ok that did the trick.

Code

/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/bin/php -v
PHP 5.5.9 (cli) (built: Feb 20 2014 15:18:58)
Copyright (c) 1997-2014 The PHP Group
Zend Engine v2.5.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2014 Zend Technologies


However, from here, it looks like it is reading from /Applications/AMPPS/conf/php-5.5.ini but writing to both files (conf/php-5.5.ini and etc/php.ini). So if I make a change in etc, next time I use the GUI, this change does not appear and gets overridden.

Does that make sense? Am I missing something?

Thanks!
IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
tidus
Group: Member
Post Group: Super Member
Posts: 1121
Status:
Hi,

AMPPS actually maintains Ampps/conf folder. All the configurations are maintained in single folder so it is easy for Ampps and users to take backup.

When Configuration is clicked from PHP Tab, it will open conf/php-<active-version>.ini, after the changes Ampps will copy the same file to php/etc/php.ini

/Applications/AMPPS/php is a symlink to current active PHP. i.e php-5.3 or php-5.4, etc, so Ampps will always copy it to the correct and active php folder.

Now what we recommend is that people should always change Configuration from Application. If user directly changes php/etc/php.ini then Ampps will overwrite the changes.

There was a bug from our side in PHP 5.5.
gd.so did not load which is fixed now in latest version. In Ampps 2.3, gd.so is built statically means no need to specify gd.so in php.ini, its already loaded. You can confirm the same by running this command

Code
/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/bin/php -m


Well, I am not sure if you are on Ampps 2.2 or 2.3. You can confirm that from AMPPS Application -> Help -> About

4.4.3 is the version of Softaculous which is simply an auto installer i.e the Enduser/Admin Panel provided in Ampps.

2.3 is the version of Ampps i.e Ampps Control Center and WAMP/MAMP Stack.


-----------------------
Follow AMPPS on,
Twitter : https://twitter.com/AMPPS_Stack
Facebook :  http://www.facebook.com/softaculousampps
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/+AmppsStack
IP: --   

Warning: PHP Startup: Unable to load dynamic library '/Applications/AMPPS/php-5.5/lib/extensions/ext/gd.so
matthieu.b
Group: Member
Post Group: Newbie
Posts: 6
Status:
Hi Tidus,

Thanks for the detailed explanation. I probably overlooked one of your previous comments
Quote
also make sure you have removed the same line from /Applications/AMPPS/conf/php-5.5.ini

hence the confusion.

For this one time, it then makes sense to manually remove the offending line from both files. All subsequent modifications can then be made through the GUI.

I think we are all good now, thanks again for your time!

Matthieu
IP: --   

« Previous    Next »

Threaded Mode | Print  



Jump To :


Users viewing this topic
1 guests, 0 users.


All times are GMT. The time now is May 22, 2024, 2:13 am.

  Powered By AEF 1.0.8 © 2007-2008 Electron Inc.Queries: 10  |  Page Created In:0.026